Typically, a personal appearance at renewal is required. Accelerated Renewal5 years for people 65 and older. Those 21 to 62 can choose between 4-year and 8-year renewals. No renewal by mail after age 69. In most instances, it will be valid for eight years. Starting at age 65, drivers must get an eye exam with each renewal.
A bill introduced in 2006 to require vision and driving tests for seniors never advanced in the legislature. If eligible, you can obtain and print a copy of a record. Arizona state rules are explained in more detail below, but a number of them focus on identifying and handling older drivers who may have become unsafe. Road test: May be required if there are indications of driver impairment, based on a report by law enforcement, a court, a physician or optometrist, or a family member. Law enforcement: A law enforcement officer who stops a driver but does not issue a ticket may still request that the driver should be reviewed by the Medical Review Program.
Therefore, each state, attempting to make the roads safer for all, continues to analyze annual statistics to determine suitable driver license requirements. Vision test: Required at in-person renewal. Starting at age 50, drivers must undergo vision screening with every renewal. The information is not medical advice. In 1995, Arizona started issuing licenses that were good until age 60.
This website is intended to provide users with general information to help them better understand the traffic safety implications of certain health conditions and human behaviors. The in-person renewals were signed into law in 2010, sparked by a series of accidents involving older drivers including one when an 88-year-old driver struck and killed a 4-year-old crossing a suburban Boston street. Thirty-six states have a higher percentage than Arizona, including Maine, where drivers over 65 must renew every four years instead of every six. Officials may ask those drivers to submit medical reports from their doctor or to undergo testing at a driver license office. Also, anyone 64 and older must pass an eye exam with every renewal, a requirement that began in 2005. You may renew your driver license anytime before the expiration date of your current license.
We will then conduct an investigation, which is a process that takes up to 30 days. Summarized below are programs and licensing laws that exist in the great state of Arizona. The information on this website is not legal advice. In fact, it may free you up to do other things, besides helping you, and others, to live that much longer to do them. Organ Donations When completing the driver license application, you will be asked if you want to become an organ donor. Florida also allows confidential reporting of a possibly unsafe driver by anyone — doctor, law enforcement, relative or bystander.
Bar bouncers across the country raise their eyebrows. If you have a digital photo on file, you may obtain a duplicate license showing the new expiration date. About 1,900 randomly chosen drivers a month, all over age 45, are required to get a physical from their own doctor and an eye exam, either from licensing officials or an eye doctor, before they can renew a license. Drivers who will turn 75 during their 4-year or 8-year license term need to renew at age 75. The American Automobile Association, Inc.
Starting in 2008, the state allowed confidential reporting of possibly unsafe drivers of any age, although it was designed for family members worried about backlash if they turned in a parent or grandparent. If you have met all requirements to reinstate your driving privilege except for paying the fees, then you may be able to reinstate online. Provided you meet the necessary requirements, a restricted driving permit can be issued to you either by mail or in any driver license office. If we cannot retrieve your photo, you will be asked for a secondary form of identification. People under age 60 get a driver license that is valid until age 65. On the other hand, a occurs only if your credential has been stolen, lost or irreparably damaged. Anyone can report a possibly unsafe driver for testing.
The source of all complaints is kept confidential. Self-help services may not be permitted in all states. Revocations are indefinite; there is a minimum length of time, usually one to three years, but the action does not automatically end on that date. See for a listing of acceptable proof of identification. Insurance companies are supposed to ask you if you would like to renew your current policy, and in some circumstances, they will renew your plan at a higher rate without you even noticing! Does The Long Renewable Period Endanger Public Safety? You will undergo eye testing and your fingerprints will be taken. Alternative methods can be used for those younger than 80 with a clean record and no medical indicators every other cycle.
See for a list of acceptable proof of identification. In order to prove your state residency status, you will need two pieces of correspondence showing your address, such as bank statements and utility bills. Prior to 1990, testing at renewal was required starting at age 69. It is a fact that as we age our bodies simply do not function the same way they did when we were younger. The Senior List® should be used for information and entertainment purposes only. We also are committed to promoting viable transportation options for seniors who can no longer drive independently.