You have the option to do this online, in person or by mail. Usually individuals need to verify their identity, residency, and fill out a few forms. You must notify the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation of your address changing within 15 days of your move. How do I get a replacement plate if mine is lost, stolen, or mutilated? Substituting numbers for letters or vice versa may be confused with an existing plate and is not permitted. Even though your plates display only the month and year, your registration expires on a specific day. An original must be submitted. They will give you the license plate and a new registration card.
You may renew at any time during the 6 month period prior to the expiration of your license. See below for a complete list of documents and explanation. Do you need to change the name on your license? You cannot change your name online. If you pass the required tests, you will be awarded a Pennsylvania license and your New Jersey driver's license will be confiscated. These plates require the , require proof or documentation, and cannot be ordered online. Be sure to check the registration card for the actual day of expiration. It is the last day to renew without penalty.
The expiration date is not a due date. The mailing address is listed below. Valid on—highway registration allows the vehicle to be operated on and off the highway. For more information: What documents do I need to present if I am a non-U. Submitting a name change request with a company is simple. For more information: How do I change my address on my drivers license? Instead of performing a standard drivers license address change, new residents need to transfer their out-of-state credentials into.
What to do when purchasing a car from a private party? Because processing times are required, this option may take longer than others. Make sure to fill out a if you are changing your address online. The lien may be satisfied by selling the vehicle through the lien sale process. Complete a indicating that you want to hold the plates for future use. A refund is not due if you paid the registration fees and then sold the vehicle before the expiration date. Examples include: adoption document, name change document, gender document, etc.
See the , , and Section for changing the address on your vehicle registration. There is no fee to change names on registration cards. Must contain full name, date of birth and court seal. The next available plate will replace sequential configurations; personalized plates will be duplicated. .
How do I reassign a plate to another vehicle? The number of days you have to transfer ownership of a vehicle you purchased or sold. Once a replacement document has been issued, the previously issued document is invalid and cannot be used as proof of identification. The California title will contain a notation identifying this vehicle as a salvage vehicle. Send the completed form to the address specified on the form. You might want to stop by the office and pick up the drivers manual to prepare for the possible test. Finally, all these documents should be submitted to the Pennsylvania Tax Collection Bureau.
You should receive the change of address notification by mail within 10 business days. Changing your address on your driver's license can be a hassle, but we've made it much easier by pooling all the information you need together in one place. If the title is lost, an must be completed and signed. We can help you fill out any required forms and additionally provide time saving information. Visit the website for additional information and the Green Sticker Vehicle Newsletter.
Must be original or certified copy, have a raised seal and be issued by the or State Board of Health. You can go online and find out whether such online services are available in your state of not. If you do not complete an address change request with the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation, you may face fines and other penalties. The process is very straightforward and involves filling out the name change application. If your New Jersey driver's license has been expired for six months, you must also take the state's Knowledge Test.
By Mail Certain states allow you to change the address on your drivers license by mail. Choose the option that is most convenient for you. Paying registration fees without having the smog inspection If your vehicle's registration requires a smog certification, be certain to pay all applicable renewal fees on or before the current expiration date, even if you have not obtained the smog certification. This may delay receipt of the registration card and sticker. The Riverfront Office Center in Harrisburg also accepts cash.